• 00:00    |    
    Initial credits
  • 00:20    |    
    Welcome by Giancarlo Ibárgüen S., president of Universidad Francisco Marroquín
  • 01:08    |    
    Opening remarks by Gerald P. Dwyer, president of APEE
  • 02:40    |    
    2009 APEE Conference, Roberto Salinas León, vice president of APEE
    • Institutions, rule of law and prosperity
    • Current global economic downturn and the threat against freedom
    • Relevance of the rule of law in generating prosperity
    • Global indexes
    • Other topics
    • Distinguished guest speakers and academics
    • Words of acknowledgment to Universidad Francisco Marroquín
    • Cites Dr. Joseph Keckeissen
  • 06:48.75    |    
    Herman W. Lay Memorial Award
    • Description of the award
    • Jeff Davis Sandefer, recipient of the 2009 Herman W. Lay Memorial Award
      • Contributions and accomplishments
      • Top entrepreneurship professor in the United States, BusinessWeek
      • Herman W. Lay Memorial Award presented to Jeff Sandefer
      • Acceptance speech by Jeff Sandefer
  • 11:6.5    |    
    Adam Smith Award
    • Description of the award
    • José Piñera, recipient of the 2009 Adam Smith Award
      • Contributions and accomplishments
      • Economic communication
      • Chile, ranked 6 in the Economic Freedom of the World Report
      • 2009 Adam Smith Award presented to José Piñera
      • Acceptance speech by José Piñera
        • Debt owed to American private education
        • Chile's history
        • Chile project
        • Founding fathers of the United States
        • Bilingual edition of the U.S. Declaration of Independence
        • Engaging in an imperfect world
        • The second derivative
        • Lack of founding fathers in Latin America
        • Latin America at a crossroads
        • Final words
  • 28:42    |    
    Final credits

Opening Reception: Thirty-Fourth Annual Conference, APEE

New Media  | 05 de abril de 2009  | Vistas: 348

The Thirty-Fourth Annual Conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education (APEE) was held at Universidad Francisco Marroquín in Guatemala. At the opening reception, UFM President Giancarlo Ibargüen and APEE President Gerald P. Dwyer welcomed the participants. Roberto Salinas León, APEE vice president, explained the theme of this year's three-day conference. During the evening two APEE awards were also presented. The 2009 Herman W. Lay Memorial Award was presented to Jeff Sandefer. Sandefer is one of the founders of the renowned Acton MBA in Entrepreneurship program. The 2009 Adam Smith Award was presented to José Piñera, president of the International Center for Pension Reform and distinguished senior fellow of the CATO Institute.


Nuestra misión es la enseñanza y difusión de los principios éticos, jurídicos y económicos de una sociedad de personas libres y responsables.

Universidad Francisco Marroquín